Yorkshire Times
Weekend Edition
12:00 AM 8th June 2024

Candidates Announced For Upcoming General Election

Image: North Yorkshire Council
Image: North Yorkshire Council
The candidates standing in all seven constituencies across North Yorkshire and Leeds in the General Election on July 4 have been announced.

North Yorkshire Changes have been made to constituency boundaries following a review by the Boundary Commission. The seven constituencies are:
Harrogate and Knaresborough.
Richmond and Northallerton.
Scarborough and Whitby.
Skipton and Ripon.
Thirsk and Malton.
Wetherby and Easingwold.

The lists of candidates standing for election to parliamentary constituencies in Leeds in the General Election 2024 are:

Voters are reminded that because of changes to boundaries, the name of their local constituency may have changed.
Leeds Central & Headingley

Leeds East
Leeds North East
Leeds North West
Leeds South
Leeds South West & Morley
Leeds West & Pudsey

You can find full details about which Leeds City Council ward areas are included in each constituency here.

Voting will take place from 7am to 10pm on Thursday, July 4, with the election count held on the evening. Voters attending the polling station will need to bring photographic identification in order to be able to vote.

Residents have until Tuesday, June 18, to register to vote and until 5pm on Wednesday, June 19, to apply for a postal vote. If someone is unable to vote in person or by post they have until 5pm on Wednesday, June 26, to apply for a proxy vote.

Anyone without an accepted form of ID should apply for a free voter authority certificate by 5pm on Wednesday, June 26.

To view the candidates and for more information on voting, visit