search
date/time
Yorkshire Times
Weekend Edition
frontpagebusinessartscarslifestylefamilytravelsportsscitechnaturefictionwhatson
Richard Trinder
Editor
@richardtrinder
3:00 AM 21st May 2022
arts

Mikron Theatre's Wild And Wonderful World Of Weather

In a bright and breezy new play by Mikron newcomer Lindsay Roden, the uber-talented and always hard working cast of just four treat us to a whirlwind history of the weather / climate change and all things meteorological.

For those who don't know Mikron (where have you been?), they are a delightfully small and permanently touring force of nature. Whisking in an out of unlikely venues - mine was the Wetherby Whaler in Guiseley - Mikron spend much of their Summer on their own canal boat and pop into pubs all across the canal networks of England, bringing theatre directly to the great unwashed. Now over 50 years old the company is said to have performed 5200 times to over a staggering 436,000 people.

This production, Red Sky at Night, features newcomer Hannah Bainbridge, Thomas Catron, Alice McKenna and Mikron stalwart James McLean. All of them are actors, singers, and all-round multi-instrumentalists.

When combined with a zinging script, an assortment of hats, coats, scarfs, umbrellas and a plethora of props, the troupe can tell a tale in a much more personal way than an on-stage production. With very little of the formality of a conventional performance Mikron simply stand in the corner of a venue and get on with it. In modern parlance we'd call this a 'pop-up theatre', but it's been used for centuries and Shakespeare himself would recognise the approach. There's something enchantingly intimate about this style of performance and this goes some way to explain Mikron's enduring popularity.

Red Sky at Night is a history lesson in the creation of Meteorology as a science; the Met Office was established in 1854 by Vice Admiral Robert Fitzroy (hence the region called FitzRoy in the shipping forecasts), and in 2022 we're belatedly concerned about climate change; 'Red Sky' covers pretty much everything weather-related in between. There's also a family drama, possibly an incipient love story, a hiring, a firing, and more!

There's almost too much in Mikron's latest piece - so many catchy songs, so many fun facts, so many history lessons that I do feel the need to see it all again, slowly, and re-educate myself. Despite this minor personal problem I hugely enjoyed Mikron's latest outing and I'm sure you will too.

Future Red Sky At Night tour dates

Sat 21st May, 3.00pm - Lawrence Batley Theatre - Huddersfield, HD1 2SP
Sun 22nd May, 2.00pm - Scarcroft Allotments, York, YO23 1NE
Tue 31st May, 7.30pm - Wharf Inn, Welford, NN6 6JQ
Thu 2nd Jun, 7.30pm - Victoria Hotel, Nottingham, NG9 1JG
Mon 6th Jun, 1.00pm - Clock Warehouse, Shardlow, DE72 2GL
Tue 7th Jun, 7.00pm - The Red Lion Inn, Crick, NN6 7TX
Fri 10th Jun, 7.30pm - The Wycliffe Rooms, Lutterworth, LE17 4ED
Sat 11th Jun, 7.30pm - St Peter's Parish Hall, Market Bosworth, CV13 0LL
Sun 12th Jun, 2.00pm - The Amphitheatre, Corby, NN17 5ER
Thu 16th Jun, 7.00pm - The Admiral Nelson, Daventry, NN11 7HJ
Sat 18th Jun, 4.00pm - The Old Rectory, Blisworth, NN7 3BJ
Wed 22nd Jun, 7.00pm - The Globe Inn, Leighton Buzzard, LU7 2TA
Thu 30th Jun, 7.30pm - Fishery Wharf Cafe, Hemel Hempstead, HP1 1NA
Wed 6th Jul, 7.00pm - Zapato Brewery, Huddersfield, HD7 6LS
Fri 8th Jul, 7.00pm - Oldham Library and Lifelong Learning Centre, Oldham, OL1 1AL
Tue 12th Jul, 7.00pm - Bourne End WI - Spade Oak Farm, Bourne End, SL8 5PS
Fri 15th Jul, 7.00pm - Eyot Centre, Henley-on-Thames, RG9 3JD
Sat 16th Jul, 7.30pm - Randwick Village Hall, Stroud, GL6 6HS
Sun 24th Jul, 2.00pm - Bloomfield Road Allotments, Bath, BA2 2AB
Tue 26th Jul, 7.00pm - The Rowbarge, Reading, RG7 5SH
Thu 18th Aug, 7.00pm - The Two Boats Inn, Southam, CV47 9QZ
Thu 18th Aug, 7.30pm - Rowington Village Hall, Rowington, CV35 7DB
Sun 21st Aug, 2.00pm - Foundry Wood, Leamington Spa, CV31 3PH
Fri 9th Sep, 7.30pm - Winsford Academy Theatre, Winsford, CW7 1AS
Tue 20th Sep, 6.45pm - Wetherby Whaler, Guiseley, LS20 8LZ
Thu 22nd Sep, 7.00pm - Bingley Arts Centre, Bingley, BD16 2LZ
Fri 23rd Sep, 7.30pm - Georgian Theatre Royal, Richmond, DL10 4DW
Sun 2nd Oct, 2.00pm - Hesketh Bank Community Centre, Hesketh Bank, PR4 6SR
Mon 3rd Oct, 7.30pm - Leyland Historical Society, Leyland, PR25 1DH
Wed 5th Oct, 8.00pm - Millgate Arts Centre, Delph, OL3 5DY
Fri 7th Oct, 7.00pm - Great Strickland Village Hall, Penrith, CA10 3DF
Sat 8th Oct, 8.00pm - The Gaskell Memorial Hall, Silverdale, LA5 0RA
Mon 17th Oct, 7.30pm - East Cottingwith Village Hall, York, YO42 4TL